Wed. Jun 16th, 2021

County Post

Accurate and Clear

11 Nakuru MCAs Explain Why they Voted NO

3 min read
Tibet MCA counting NO votes

Today Nakuru County Assembly overwhelmingly voted for the Constitution of Kenya Amendment Bill (2020) saying it will bring more money in form of five more constituencies and up to Ksh. 50 million ward fund.

However, eleven (11) MCAs from from one community distinctly from Kuresoi North, Kuresoi South, Nakuru West and Rongai took unpopular route to oppose the document.

Those who opposed are: Alfred Mutai, (Sirikwa), Bernard Ngetich, (Nyota), Cyrus Mitei, (Kamara), Anthony Rotich, (Keringet), Irene Jebichi, (Soin), Vincent Kutol, (Solai), Paul Langat, (Kapkures), Richard Kurgat, (Kiptororo), David Malel, (Tinet), Rose Chepkoech, (Kiptagich), Wesley Maritim, (Amalo).

Sirikwa MCA Alfred Mutai

On the floor of the house, the MCAs except Malel and Mutai didn’t say the reason for voting NO.

Malel opened the debate when he first rose and said he opposed the document because his ward has been sidelined and hopes for nothing good even in the promised increased allocation from 15 to 35 percent.

While the rest just said they were sent by their electorate to vote No, Mutai said he opposes the document on behalf of Kuresoi North constituency because the region will not get a single constituency out of the five to be created at the county.

Keringet Ward MCA Anthony Rotich

When interviewed later, they said, they obeyed the wishes of the people that sent them to the County Assembly.

” I could not do against the will of the people who elected me. I have consulted my people widely and they asked me to reject it,” Rotich said.

Last week, Rotich was conspicuously absent in his ward  when Governor Lee Kinyanjui joined the locals for a public participation organized by the assembly in Keringet social hall.

Richard Kurgat

Also noted , seven nominated members voted YES for the document while two of them were absent.

Though those who opposed are from one community some of their colleagues from the same community supported the document and praised its content.

Those who supported were Daniel Mitei, (Mosop), Douglas Aiyabei, (Mariashoni), Joseph Bett, (Barut), Samwel Tonui, (Nessuit), Philip Rotich, (Mauche), Leah Sang, (ODM Nominated),  Alice Kering, (ODM Nominated), Benazir Busienei, (Nominated),  Caroline Cherono Kilisha (Nominated), Jebiwott Korir, (Nominated), Lily Kones, (Nominated) Rachael Maru, (Nominated).

Samuel Tonui (Nessuit)

Two nominated members Mourine Lesingo and Michael Kirui, were conspicuously absent.

A few weeks ago, Baringo senator held meeting to drum up support for the BBI Bill in Njoro and all of them who were present voted YES.

A section of the nominated said, they had to obey the will of the party that sent them to the assembly.

” We had no other option but to obey the will of the party that nominated us to this house” one of them said

Governor Lee Kinyanjui thanked the MCAs for showing maturity during the exercise calling upon those who opposed and who supported to work together for the greater good of the county.

Irine Chebichii

” I want to thank all of you. Each one of you exercised your democratic right and therefore, going forward I call all of us to work together to build our great county into prosperity,” he said in his address outside the Assembly after the exercise.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copyright © All rights reserved. | Newsphere by AF themes.